Men's WFC 2020 Qualifications
Poprad, Slovakia
30 Jan - 02 Feb 2020


Poprad, Slovakia / 30 Jan - 2 Feb 2020   
Group AGroup B
Switzerland (3)Norway (6)
Russia (18)Slovakia (9)
Belgium (22)Hungary (27)
Cote d'Ivoire (40)Italy (30)

A total of 35 teams have registered for the 13th Men’s WFC which will be hosted by Helsinki, Finland from 4th – 12th December 2020.  16 countries will be participating in the WFC and the Finnish Men’s team is the reigning world champion after defending their gold medal in Prague in 2018.

Finland, as the host country, received a direct qualification. WFC in Helsinki acts like a qualifying event for The WorldGames which will be hosted by the USA in 2021. Therefore the teams from Canada and the USA are directly qualified for the final round of WFC 2020, while all other 32 countries will compete for the remaining 13 places via regional qualification events.

In Europe, there will be six qualification groups with three event locations – Frederikshavn (Denmark), Poprad (Slovakia) and Liepaja (Latvia). The Asia-Ocenia qualification will be held in Bangkok(Thailand).

For the first time, a new playing system will be introduced in the qualifications.  In Europe, there will be four days of play (reduced from five) and 3 teams will qualify from each qualification event. In each event, there are 2 groups of four teams, and the teams will play once against the others in their group. On the final day will be a play-off round of cross-over matches, as follows:

Final – 1st Group A v 1st Group B (both teams qualify)
3rd place – 2nd Group A v 2nd Group B (winner qualifies)
5th place – 3rd v 3rd
7th place – 4th v 4th

No. Team M W T L GF-GA PTS
Date Time Phase Home Team Away Team Score
No. Player Team M G A PTS PIM
No. Player Team M S G %