The International World Games Association held its Annual General Meeting in Madrid today and made a decision on the ratification of the Sports Programme including Floorball for the next World Games to be held in Chengdu, China in 2025, alongside a new member joining the Executive Committee, IFF Secretary General John Liljelund!

There will be a total of 33 sports on the program for Chengdu 2025 and Floorball has now been given a quota for both Women and Men to take part with eight teams each and 14 athletes and one coach per team (with the option to have further team staff at cost). In the two previous World Games Floorball has just had the quota for a Men’s tournament only, with Wroclaw 2017 having six teams and in Birmingham 2022 eight teams.

The fact that we were given the quota for both Women and Men is a great achievement for Floorball and clearly shows that the IWGA is highly appreciating what we have brought the games. This achievement brings us forward to a new level and is the result of the work done by the IFF and our member federations in promoting the World Games“, said IFF Secretary General John Liljelund


During the IWGA AGM the election of the President, vice-president, treasurer and four Executive members. The IWGA President Mr. Jose Perurena was re-elected, Mr. Tome Dielen (World Archery) was elected as the vice-president and Mr. Lukas Hinder (Dance Sport) re-elected as the treasure. 

The delegates in Madrid also confirmed the following as Executive Committee (ExCo) members: Anna Arzhanova (World Underwater Federation), Volker Bernardi (World Flying Disc Federation) and Jan Fransoo (International Korfball Federation) in their posts. New to the ExCo is John Liljelund (International Floorball Federation). The previous ExCo member Antonio Espinos did not stand for re-election in Madrid on Wednesday. José Perurena thanked the President of the World Karate Federation for his commitment and services to The World Games family.

For the election for the Executive Committee members there were seven candidates for four positions. The result of the election was:

Anna Arzhanova, World Underwater Federation – CMAS president 25 votes

Volker Bernardi, World Flying Disc Federation – WFDF secretary general 23 votes.

Jan Fransoo, International Korfball Federation – IKF president 19 votes

John Liljelund, International Floorball Federation – IFF secretary general 18 votes


Joachim Thumfart, Ju-Jitsu International Federation – JJIF Director general 17 votes

Pablo Serena, World Squash Federation – WSF secretary general 8 votes

José Antonio Pere Priego, International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation president 6 votes


The term of office of the new ExCo is limited to the three years until 2026. Usually the ExCo is elected for four years, until one year after the last edition of The World Games; the next term of office is only three years because the current term was extended by one year due to the pandemic. The Games in Birmingham, USA, originally planned for 2021, also had to be postponed by one year due to COVID-19 restrictions.


“I am very happy that John is elected to the IWGA Executive Committee 2023 – 2026, as this is a huge and important step for Floorball and I know that John and Floorball will bring added value to The World Games in especially in the fields of membership service and building awareness and visibility”, says Tomas Eriksson IFF President.


The IFF is happy to see further interest and confidence in the sport of Floorball at the World Games for not only 2025 but for many years to come! The IFF congratulates all candidates on election and is extremely pleased to see Floorball now represented on the executive committee.

For more information on the IWGA 2023 General Assembly click the link here:

News IFF News The World Games TWG 2025 The World Games The World Games 2025 IWGA IWGA Executive Committee International World Games Association
Men's WFC 2024....