The 1st ever ITM Floorball Cup was played at the ITM University, Turari Campus, Gwalior, India. ITM stands for Institute of Technology and Management, the University that organised the tournament.

– This event was quite different from all previous tournament formats as until now we have only had players representing a state association taking part in the tournaments. With the ITM Floorball Cup we have started a new concept where a player is free to move outside his state and can be picked by any floorball club, so the clubs are independent. This is a new initiative to reach new clubs and to enhance the popularity of the game in IndiaMr. Pradeep Singh, Indian Floorball Federation General Secretary, informs.

The opening ceremony took place in the auspicious presence of Mr. Trivedi, Vice Chancellor of ITM University. This event was hosted by Mr. Atul Gupta, Vice President of InFF. Present were also Dr. Daulat Singh Chauhan, Dr. Ombir Singh ITM University.

Four floorball clubs participated named as below
1. FBC Waves (MP)
2. FBC Strikers (Delhi)
3. FBC Warriors (Haryana)
4. FBC Lions (PunJab)

The tournament which lasted three days, 16th June to 18th, had two courts and a total of six matches played. The final match was played between FBC Strikers and FBC Waves. FBC Strikers won the match by 3-1.

A tough match was also played between FBC Warriors and FBC lions, which resulted in a draw. FBC warriors won the match by scoring two goals more in the penalty shootout (3-1).

Tournament awards:
Girish Mehta, BC Waves, best goalkeeper (most saves)
Shivam Gulati, FBC Strikers, top scorer (6 + 7)
Pulkit Vashisth, FBC Strikers, best defender
Ankit Dalal, FBC Strikers, best playmaker  (3 + 5)
Raghuveer, FBC Lions, best game spirit
Ajay, FBC Warriors, rising star (1 + 2)
Bhpunder pal, FBC Strikers, best goal of tournament

Prize distribution ceremony was cherished by our main guest Mr. Ajay Ratra, Indian Cricketer. The closing words of thanks were given by Mr. Atul Gupta, Sr Vice President InFF. This event became reality with the help and effort of Mr. Daulat Singh Chauhan, President of MPFA and Mr. Pankaj Tiwari, Secretary of MPFA.

Source & more information: Indian Floorball Federation


News India Floorball News
Men's WFC 2024....