Elections for the female candidates of the IFF Athletes’ Commission (ATC) were held via an online survey distributed to all IFF Member Associations. There was a record eleven candidates from India, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Sweden, Switzerland and Uganda, and four were elected to serve on the ATC from 2021-2025. 

The successful candidates are: Kabaziba Daphine (UGA), Josefina Eiremo (SWE), Lara Heini (SUI), Yui Takahashi (JPN).

Athletes’ Commission Members:

Lara Heini (SUI)
Born: 9.07.1994
IFF Player Card


Elected to Athletes’ Commission 2021

Lara has played in the Swedish league since 2018 and played a starring role in the success of the Swiss women’s team at WFC 2019. She has Masters in Business Innovation, likes the outdoors and believes that being part of the ATC is her chance to give something back to the sport.

“Floorball stands at an interesting and ground-breaking point between authentic amateur sport and professionalisation. I would like to be a part of it and help to shape the future of our beloved sport.”

Kabaziba Daphine (UGA)
Born: 9.09.1993
 IFF Player Card


Elected to Athletes’ Commission 2021

Kabaziba is a pioneer of Floorball in Uganda having begun playing in 2015 when the sport was first introduced to the country. She helps with player education and works with different NGOs on how women can be involved in sports. She hopes to bring a new perspective to the ATC.

“I have been a player representative in Uganda for some time and I know what we players go through. I want to represent not only my club and country, but also Floorball players throughout the world since most of us, especially in Africa, go through almost the same problems.” 

Josefina Eiremo (SWE)
Born: 17.07.1984
 IFF Player Card


Elected to Athletes’ Commission 2013

Josefina is the longest-serving member of the ATC. She retired as a player from international and top-level Floorball in 2017, but in 2018 she returned to the women’s national team as Team Manager, a position she still holds. She played 101 internationals and was the national team captain for many years.

“It is important that we make the players’ voices heard and for me it is an honour to have the chance to continue to contribute to the development of floorball.” 

Yui Takahashi (JPN)
Born: 15.01.1989
 IFF Player Card


Elected to Athlete’ Commission in 2017

Since 2011 Yui has played in the second highest league in Sweden. In Japan, she has been involved, not only as a player but also, a coach of the men’s & the women’s U19 national teams. She has a Masters in Education and the topic of her master’s study was using floorball as a teaching material for P.E. in primary school. In 2016 she established ‘T3 Floorball Project’ which is a voluntary organisation to promote Floorball in Japan.

“I have learned that to deliver the voices from Asia to the IFF is a very important mission. I know that I can do it, so I really want to keep working in the ATC.” 

Josefina and Yui were re-elected, while Kabaziba and Lara join the ATC as new members.  In total, there are 9 representatives in the Athletes’ Commission – four males, four females and the Committee Chair who also is part of the IFF Central Board.  This group will now work together for the next three years to promote the rights of the athletes and help in promoting the IFF values as outlined in the new IFF Strategy.

The former ATC member, Agata Plechan from Poland was already confirmed as the committee chair in December. The male representatives were elected in February last year and are (pictured left to right): Agata Plechan (POL), Jarno Ihme (FIN), Tomas Sladky (CZE), Sergio Garces (ESP), Junoh Lee (KOR).





More information on the IFF Athletes’ Commission can be found here

News IFF News Athletes Commission floorball Floorball News IFF Athletes' Commission
Men's WFC 2024....