In the women’s final Kloten-Dietlikon Jets took home the trophy from the reigning champion Piranha Chur. In the men’s final, SV Wiler-Ersigen defeated Grasshopper Club Zürich and won their 12th championship. Both teams secured their places in the 2020 Champions Cup in Ostrava.

Women’s final

Women’s final was played with the same composition as last year, when Kloten-Dietlikon Jets confronted the reigning champion Piranha Chur. The first goal of the final was scored by Michelle Wiki (Kloten-Dietlikon Jets) when less than three minutes had been played. Piranha Chur turned on another gear in the second period, when Corin Rüttimann, Seraina Buchli and Flurina Marti all scored one goal each. When Katrin Zwinggi scored the 4-1 goal on the 49th minute, it looked like Chur was going to take home the win in this Superfinal. But nine minutes before the end, Kloten-Dietlikon Jets woke up. The goals from Wiki, Isabelle Gerig and Elsa Frisk made sure that the final this year was decided in overtime as well. Jenna Suter scored the golden goal in the last minute of overtime and Kloten-Dietlikon Jets took home their 8th championship with 5-4 win. The team also won the Swiss Cup earlier this year.

Men’s final

Photo: Fabian Trees

8,011 spectators witnessed the men’s final on Saturday evening. The first period was tight between the teams and Wiler-Ersigen’s Dave Wittwer started the scoring from. Fabrice Göldi soon evened the game, but Joel Krähenbühl succeeded just before the end of the period and score was 2-1 for Wiler-Ersigen. In the second period, Wiler-Ersigen took the real lead when Claudio Mutter, Deny Känzig and Marco Rentsch all succeded once. The young Slovakian star Michal Dudovic went on to add the lead and the numbers were 6-1 for Wiler-Ersigen. Claudio Laely and Benjamin Reusser were able to take GC Zürich closer to even the game but opponent’s lead was just too much. When Joel Krähenbühl and Känzig succeeded once more in the end of the third period, the winner of the game became clear. GC’s Laely scored his second one for the evening but it was not enough. SV Wiler-Ersigen won the championship clearly 8-4 and celebrated their 12th championship title.

Source: swiss unihockey

News Switzerland Floorball News

Floorball in the media