The Ukrainian championship finals took place on Saturday 8th of May in the city of Lviv. Storm Ternopil won the Men’s Highest League final and Skif Noviy Rozdil the Women’s final. 

Since the city council had allowed spectator capacity of 50% to the arena, all the matches were sold out. The Women’s final was played betweene Skif Noviy Rozdil and Skala Melitopol. Skif Noviy Rozdil were big favorites, losing only one game during the way up to the final. Skala Melitopol managed to take the lead in the beginning of the game but Skif Noviy Rozdil came back quickly and showed to be too strong for their opponents. They won the final comfortably 18-4. A very well deserved gold medal for Skif Noviy Rozdil and they became back to being champions.

Skif Noviy Rozdil. Photo by PlayPro Media


In the Men’s Highest League final, the home team and two-time reigning champions Lemberg Lviv played against Storm Ternopil. Lemberg had not lost a game during the season. But in the final despite an early lead by Lemberg, Storm fought back and the teams were going goal for goal into the third period. In the last period Storm proved to be the strongest team. When Ivan Yaremiy scored 6-5 with 2.02 minutes to go, the team could defend their lead and become champions. The championship title was the first for the club and a big sensation in Ukrainian floorball.

In the Men’s First League Chosen Zhdenijevo managed to equalise in the last minute and win in overtime over Lemberg 2 Lviv score being 6-5. The team thereby qualified to the Men’s Highest League for the next season.


Individual awards 2020-2021

Women’s League

Goalkeeper of the year – Oksana Prymak (Floorball Club Lemberg)

Top Scorer – Diana Mitsiuk (Floorball Club Skif)

Best Coach – Oleh Pavlyshyn (Floorball Club Skif)

MVP – Sonya Rubay (Floorball Club Skif)


Men’s Highest League

Goalkeeper of the year – Vakhtang Georgadze (Floorball Club Lemberg)

Top Scorer – Stanislav Shcherbakov (Floorball Club Storm)

Best Coach – Kaspars Maksimovs (Floorball Club Lemberg)

MVP – Oleg Rubay (Floorball Club Storm)


Men’s First League

Goalkeeper of the year – Anton Kononenkon (One Way Bila Tserkva)

Top Scorer – Konstantin Maililo (Chosen Zhdenijevo)

Best Coach – Svyatoslav Sabadash (Floorball Club Lemberg)

MVP – Konstantin Maililo (Chosen Zhdenijevo)


Match highlights and full game replays are available on Ukrainian Floorball Federation Channel 1 on YouTube.

Source: Ukrainian Floorball Federation

News Ukraine Floorball News floorball Floorball News

Floorball in the media