In 2020, the Women’s U19 WFC will be held in Uppsala, Sweden in May, while the Men’s WFC will be played in Helsinki, Finland in December. Both events have received a record number of registrations.


9th Women’s U19 WFC

A total of 19 teams have registered for the 9th Women’s U19 WFC which will be hosted by Uppsala, Sweden from 6th – 10th May 2020. This event is played with 16 teams and there is no longer A- & B-division. For the first time, the teams will be divided into four groups in one division based on ranking and a ballot. Groups A/B and C/D are divided according to ranking (based on results from U19 WFC 2018) and a group ballot will be held after the qualification event to decide the final four groups.

Nine teams (all from Europe) are directly qualified based on results from U19 WFC 2018 and, based on regional quotas, two teams from the Americas and three from Asia Oceania have also received direct qualification. The five remaining European teams will play a qualification tournament in September 2019 to decide who fills the two last places. China will be competing for the first time at this level.

Group A and BGroup C and D
Sweden (1)*Slovakia (8)
Finland (2)Canada (13)
Czech Republic (3)Australia (14)
Poland (4)New Zealand (15)
Switzerland (5)USA (16)
Norway (6)China (-)
Germany (7)Russia (10)
Latvia (9)Austria (12)
EUR Qualifications
Russia (10)
Hungary (11)
Austria (12)
Netherlands (17)
Italy (18)

13th Men’s WFC

The 13th Men’s WFC will be played in Helsinki, Finland from 4th – 12th December, making this the third time that Finland has hosted this event. 35 teams registered, among them was the first ever registration from Africa – Côte d’Ivoire. The adult WFC is played with 16 teams which will be divided into 4 groups based on rankings and a ballot draw. Teams play a group stage, a play-off stage that gives crossover games between groups, then quarter-finals, semi-finals, final and placement matches for all positions.

Finland, as the host country, receive direct qualification. The IFF Central Board also decided that due to The World Games being held in Birmingham, USA in 2021, it was important that North America was fully represented in the final round, so both Americas teams – USA & Canada also received direct qualification. All other teams will compete in regional qualification events to be held in January / February 2020, with Côte d’Ivoire being included to one of the European qualifications. Four teams will qualify from AOFC and nine teams from Europe.

EuropeAsia Oceania
Finland (1)^Australia (13)
Sweden (2)Thailand (14)
Switzerland (3)Singapore (16)
Czech Republic (4)Japan (17)
Germany (5)Korea (21)
Norway (6)Malaysia (25)
Denmark (7)New Zealand (26)
Latvia (8)Philippines (35)
Slovakia (9)
Estonia (10)
Poland (12)
Russia (18)Americas
Spain (19)Canada (11)
Slovenia (20)USA (15)
Belgium (22)
Netherlands (23)
Austria (24)
Hungary (27)Africa
Great Britain (28)Côte d'Ivoire (40)
Iceland (29)
Italy (30)
France (32)
Liechtenstein (33)
Ukraine (44)


*Numbers in brackets show rankings based on results from U19 WFC 2018

^Numbers in brackets show rankings based on results from the last two WFC events or other IFF events if no past participation at WFC

News Men's WFC 2020 Women's U19 WFC 2020
Men's WFC 2024....